On the nostalgia of books and reading

It could be said that I’m a bit sentimental and nostalgic. Not nostalgic in a “Those were the good, old days,” way. More of a “Wow, life sure has had some sweet moments, and isn’t it nice to remember?” Books are no exception to this. I have so many perfect memories that involve books and reading.

Now, it could also be said that I’m a lady who never met a list she didn’t like. So, here’s a list of happy reading/bookish memories (in no particular order):

  1. Book Fairs at school. Everyone brought home the little magazine of book offerings, and I don’t remember a time my parents ever told me I couldn’t get at least one book.
  2. A librarian in elementary school who called everyone “Pumpkin.”
  3. Reading Harry Potter. Also, waiting in line at Borders with my very good friend, Sarah, having just graduated college, to await the midnight release of the final book.
  4. The smell of books. I’ve been known to stick my nose in books from time-to-time and inhale deeply. I associate the smell of books with comfort and childhood.
  5. Dad was my tucker-inner at night. Part of his duties was reading to me. I specifically remember reading The Boxcar Children and some series of books about a girl named Libby who may have been adopted (?), but I’m sure there are many more.
  6. Teachers reading books aloud — books like Where the Red Fern Grows and Summer of the Monkeys.
  7. The first “big” book I remember reading was Matilda. I remember thinking there was no way I could read a book that long. Until I did.
  8. September 2009. I’d just moved to a new little bungalow when I was still living in Asheville, NC. My roommates and I were cheap (and broke) and decided to to forgo cable/internet.  With no screen to scare at after work in the evenings, I read. I read 6 books that month, perhaps the most I’ve ever read in a month. I just remember curling up in my roommates recliner, typically enjoying an empty house all to myself, and reading for hours every evening.
  9. My grandma, one of the biggest readers I’ve ever known. She devoured books. Now, her taste in books was a bit questionable (she loved series you’d find in Christian bookstores that featured Amish characters plot lines. Apparently that’s a big thing?). I’ll always remember her in her housecoat and slippers, with a books sitting by her lazy boy in her bedroom.
  10. This isn’t a specific memory, but I’ll always thank my parents for being readers. My dad hoards books and my mom always has a book or 2 on her nightstand. It’s always been this way, and I’m sure has had a direct bearing on my love of reading today.

I’ll stop it at 10, but I could go on! Books are my lurve language, a constant in my life that is always, and will always be, good.

On the nostalgia of books and reading

2 thoughts on “On the nostalgia of books and reading

  1. This is a lovely post! Memories of reading are some of my best memories. I loved the school book fairs too. Those lovely little catalogs printed on that thin paper – it had such a distinct smell! It was so fun to pick out books, and then even more fun a few weeks later when we would come in and see our books stacked on our desk waiting for us, ready to be taken home and read.

    (Also, if you can’t tell by my reply weeks after you’ve posted, I’m very behind on my feed reader. Taking some holiday relaxing time to catch up!)

  2. Oh, I do miss those book fairs! I think the equivalent for me now is when a book I’ve put on hold at the library finally becomes available for me. The thrill I feel when I receive an email saying Such-And-Such book is ready for pick-up is pretty similar to the thrill of receiving books ordered from a book fair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

