Read in a day: Summer Sisters

I dove into Summer Sisters by Judy Blume on Saturday and, before I knew it, I’d read the whole thing in one big gulp. Reading it, and jumping into a Blume book, made me so nostalgic. I felt like I was 10 years old reading Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret all over again.

I bought the book to read using my kindle app for 2 reasons:

  1. I saw it was only $5.68!
  2. Several blogs I read are doing a sort-of Judy Blume Summer Read-a-long, and I couldn’t resist unofficially joining in the fun.

Blume perfectly captured the importance of that first best friend, the raw emotions that can come along with it, and how complicated a friendship like that can be. The book explores the friendship of Vix and Caitlin, beginning around age 12. The reader watches them grow and mature, mostly through reading about their summers together on Martha’s Vineyard. Each take different paths in life, and the book explores a friendship that evolves and changes over the years, as each girl grows.

This was a really nice summer read — I’m so glad I indulged!

Up next: I’m so excited I can hardly stand it… I’ve had The Shore on hold through the library for weeks (perhaps months?) and it is FINALLY my turn! Before I got the notification that the book was on the hold shelves for me, I started reading The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy (also a library pick). It is the companion/follow-up book to The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, which I read back in 2014 and really enjoyed. I can tell I will like Queenie’s story…but it is a bit of a slower start. Going to renew it so I can hang on to it for a few more weeks (and read The Shore in the meantime!).

Read in a day: Summer Sisters

Leave a Reply

