Why I bike

I bike because it’s fun, because it makes me smile nonstop. I hop on a bike because some of my favorite spots in the city are best experienced and viewed by bike. I bike because when I spot wild animals, like deer, I can stop in my tracks and take a quiet moment to watch them nibble on some greens. Another reason I bike? Biking is an adventure. Getting from point A to point B is no longer an errand; it’s an experience.

I bike because it reduces my carbon footprint, keeps my healthy, and makes me happy. I bike because food eaten post bike ride is always the best tasting thing I’ll eat all day. I love biking because it’s something my husband and I can do together (currently we are planning a long weekend bike touring ride around Traverse City and the Lake MI coast). I bike because some of the most fun and memorable biking I have done have let me explore new cities like Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Boulder, and Washington DC in new and exciting ways

I love biking because I never thought it was something I could do, but here I am biking more and more and building my strength and endurance. I bike because it makes me feel free and independent. It also happens to be one of the best ways to see and experience the beauty that Michigan has to offer.

I’m not an experienced biker by any means. I don’t log my miles, have impressive biking clothes/gear, and I still haven’t learned the basics of bike maintenance beyond filling tires with air and lubing the chain. What I do know, and have realized, is that as I’ve grown older it becomes harder to find time for things I truly enjoy doing. It’s also very easy for me to become wrapped up in the day-to-day sludge of life and, before I know it, I’ve spent week upon week going to work, coming home, taking care of stuff around the house, watching TV, and going to bed. Rediscovering biking as an adult reminded me of what it was like to be a kid and to become so lost and engrossed in an activity that time loses all its meaning.

Here is what a bike ride is like for me, mentally and emotionally:

unicorn! rainbow! birds chirping! flora and fauna!

Taking a few hours each week to let my brain bliss out makes me a more balanced, fulfilled person. After a bike ride, I feel like the best version of myself.

Maybe running or swimming is more your thing…or cooking or gardening or art or reading or whittling soap into fun, inventive shapes. What I now know is that it is worth finding/making time for these types of activities, as they are fulfilling and bring joy to life in a way that working, paying bills, and accomplishing other adult tasks cannot.

So that, in a nutshell, is why I bike.

Why I bike

One thought on “Why I bike

Leave a Reply

